What does the Board of Foundation do

Approves Charitable Programs, the list of scholars, budgets and financial reports of the Foundation.

A supreme collegial Board body of the Foundation. Members of the Board perform their duties in this body as volunteers. The principal function of the Board of the Foundation is to ensure compliance by the Foundation with the goals, for which it was established (the charter goals of the Foundation). Members of the Board are elected by the Board of Guardians for three years.

Members of the Board


Yury Samarsky — chairman

Professor Yuri Samarsky, the Candidate of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, was born on July 24, 1936. In 1960 he graduated from the Department of Radio Engineering of MIPT. For 1969 inclusive Yury Samarsky worked as an assistant at the General Physics Chair. Being in charge of the Laboratory of General Physics he defended his thesis and became the candidate of physical and mathematical sciences in 1975. In 1978 he assumed the position of associate professor of Physics, and 20 years later takes the position of vice-rector on pre-university education. In 2000 he received the post of vice-rector for academic affairs of MIPT. For the enormous contribution that Samarsky made ​​to the development of science he was awarded the prize of the Government of the Russian Federation in the field of education. Since 2002 Samarsky has also the honorary title of Honored Worker of Higher School of the Russian Federation.

Yury Belousov

Russian physicist, professor Yury Belousov, Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Head of the Department of Theoretical Physics of MIPT. His areas of research interests include condensed matter physics and spectroscopy. Yuriy Belousov is the author and co-author of monographs, 2 textbooks and over 50 research papers. He is a member of the Main scientific council in Physics of Ministry of Education of Russian Federation. In 2011 and 2012 Yury Belousov was a vice-chairman of the scientific program committee of the Second International School for teachers and youth «Applied Mathematics and Physics: from basic research to innovation.»


Alexey Leonov

Dean of the Department of Physics and Power Engineering Problems Alexey Leonov was born in Moscow on August, 11, 1951. In 1974 he graduated from the Department of Physics MSU. In 1981 he defended his thesis on the topic: «Experimental investigation of gas-discharge pulsed lasers of high pressure in the visible and ultraviolet region of the spectrum». In 1994 he defended another thesis «Kinetic phenomena in dense metal vapors» and received a doctorate degree. He became a professor in 2003. In 2007 Alexey was awarded the title «Honorary Worker of Higher Professional Education of the Russian Federation». For his enormous contribution to the development of education and science he awarded the prize of the Government of the Russian Federation in 2011.


Evgeny Polovinkin

Russian mathematician Evgeny Polovinkin, Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences since 1987, was born on August 1, 1946. He is a prominent expert in mathematical control theory of convex and non-smooth analysis. He heads the chair of higher mathematics at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology since 2005. He is a professor that breathed fresh ideas into mathematics education at MIPT. Polovinkin became one of the authors of a collection of problems in the theory of functions of complex variable. He, among other scientists, was awarded the Prize of Government of the Russian Federation in the field of education. Evgeny is a member of the Scientific and Methodological Council on Mathematics of Ministry of Education.


Dmitry Zubtsov

Vice-rector for academic affairs of Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, Dmitry Zubtsov, was born in Maikop on September 9, 1982. In 2005 he graduated from the Department of Molecular and Biological Physics (DMBP) of MIPT, and finished doctoral studies in 2008. In November 2008, successfully defended his doctoral thesis at the Institute of Molecular Biology. Since 2011 Dmitry is Associate Professor at Molecular Physics Chair of MIPT. In 2002-2008 he was a member of student council of DMBP MIPT. In 2009-2012 he served as Deputy Head of the Molecular Physics Chair of MIPT. In 2008-2012 Dmitry was the head of administrative department of the Youth Committee of the Institute. He became one of the youngest vice-rectors of MIPT.